University Scholarship Committee

Responsibilities: The responsibilities of the University Scholarship Committee are to:


1. Assist university officials in planning and assessing the effectiveness of student recruitment efforts and in maximizing the utilization of scholarships to recruit new students.
2. Review all applications and supporting materials for the President's Endowed University Scholars Program, the Sul Ross Scholars Program, the Flora Daugherty Scholarship, and other scholarships as may be assigned to the committee and present recommendations for scholarship awards.
3. Develop recommendations for guidelines and policy considerations relating to scholarship awards.


Primary Responsibility Area: Academic

Membership: Committee shall consist of eight members appointed by the president, including six faculty members nominated by the Faculty Assembly, the Director of Financial Assistance and the Financial Assistance Specialist.

Term: three-year
Chair: Director of Student Financial Assistance

Members Expiration of Term
Dr. Sean Graham, Biology, Geology, and Physical Sciences 9/30/2017
Dr. Filemon Zamora, Languages and Literature 9/30/2019
Dr. Yanfeng Yue, Biology, Geology, and Physical Sciences 9/30/2019
Dr. Eric Funasaki, Computer Science and Mathematics 9/30/2018
Ms. Cynthia McAlister, Academic Center for Excellence 9/30/2017
Dr. Karrin Ford, Fine Arts & Commincation 9/30/2018
Ms. Melissa Amparan, Enrollment Services ex officio, non-voting
Mr. Mickey Corbett, Enrollment Services - Chair ex officio, voting
Ms. Liz Castillo, Student Support Services ex officio, voting